Career Building



[Personality Development][twocolumns]

Amazing Facts

[Amazing Facts][grids]


[Motivational Story][twocolumns]

Pradhanmantri Aadarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY)

Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY) is a rural development programme launched by the Central government in India in the financial year 2009–10 for the development of villages having a higher ratio (over 50%) of people belonging to the scheduled castes through convergence of central and state schemes and allocating financial funding on a per village basis.
The plan is considered ambitious as it aimed to bring a number of development programs to the villages. Some of these programs are Bharat Nirman, Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY) for rural roads, water supply, housing, electrification and other big-ticket schemes like Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan, Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, ICDS, sanitation. This program would be applicable to around 44,000 villages which had a scheduled castes population above 50% and so qualified for PMAGY.
The Plan aims to build an "Adarsh Gram" (Model village} which has adequate physical and institutional infrastructure, in which minimum needs of all sections of the society are fully met. The village which is progressive and dynamic and its residents live in harmony. All the facilities necessary for dignified living should be available and the residents are enabled to utilise their potential to the fullest.

The aim of the scheme is to integrated development of the selected villages so that they have all required physical and social infrastructure for an all round socio-economic development. Another objectives of the plan is elimination of disparity between SCs and other communities in terms of common socio-economic indicators such as literacy rate, completion rate of elementary education, infant mortality rate/maternal mortality rate and ownership of productive assets. To ensure the implementation two committees an advisory committee headed by the Deputy Chief Minister and a steering committee headed by the Chief Secretary have been formed.

Adopted Villages
• Under the scheme, Narendra Modi has adopted Jayapur village from his constituency Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.
• Sonia Gandhi adopted Udwa village in her constituency Rae Bareli in Uttar Pradesh.
• Rahul Gandhi adopted Deeh village in his constituency Amethi in Uttar Pradesh.
• V. K. Singh adopted Mirpur Hindu in his constituency Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh.
• Ahmed Patel adopted Vandari village in Rajpipada, Gujarat.
• Sachin Tendulkar adopted Puttamraju vari Kandriga (P.R.Kandriga) a village near Gudur in Nellore district of Andhra Pradesh.

No comments: